« Return to currency calculator

Information on currency / exchange Bangladeshi taka ( BDT )

Bangladeshi Taka
The Taka (code: BDT) is the currency of Bangladesh. Bangladesh Bank, the central bank of the country controls the issuance of the currency except one taka and two taka notes, which are the responsibility of Ministry of Finance of the Government of Bangladesh. The most commonly used symbol for the Taka is Tk and ., used on receipts while purchasing goods and services. One taka is subdivided into 100 paisa or poisha.

In India, taka is the Bengali and Assamese word for the Indian rupee, and Indian banknotes, which state the names of the denominations in all of India's official languages, use taka for the Bengali and Assamese names.

In Bengali, the word taka is also commonly used generically to mean any money, currency, or notes. Thus, colloquially, a person speaking Bengali may use taka to refer to money regardless of what currency it is denominated in.

In 1973, coins were introduced in denominations of 5, 10, 25 and 50 poisha. 1 poisha coins followed in 1974, with 1 taka coins introduced in 1975. The 1, 5 and 10 poisha were struck in aluminium, with the 25 and 50 poisha struck in steel and the 1 taka in copper-nickel. The 5 poisha were square with rounded corners, whilst the 10 poisha were scalloped. Steel 5 taka were introduced in 1994, whilst a steel 2 taka coin followed in 2004.

1 and 5 poisha coins are rarely found in circulation. 10, 25, and 50 poisha coins do not circulate widely. Only the 1, 2 and 5 taka are regularly found in circulation.

Current exchange rate: USD - BDT