« Return to currency calculator

Information on currency / exchange Bahraini dinar ( BHD )

Bahraini dinar
The dinar (code: BHD) is the currency of Bahrain. The ISO 4217 currency code is BHD. It is divided into 1000 fils. The name dinar derives from the Roman denarius. The dinar was introduced in 1965, replacing the Gulf rupee at a rate of 10 rupees = 1 dinar. It is usually represented with three decimal places denoting the fils.

In 1965, coins were introduced in denominations of 1, 5, 10, 25, 50 and 100 fils. The 1, 5 and 10 fils were struck in bronze, with the others in cupro-nickel. The 1 fils coin was not produced after 1966 and no longer circulates. In 1992, brass replaced bronze in the 5 and 10 fils and a bimetallic 100 fils coin was introduced. A bimetallic 500 fils followed in 2000.

Current exchange rate: USD - BHD