« Return to currency calculator

Information on currency / exchange Czech koruna ( CZK )

Czech koruna
The Czech koruna or Czech crown (code: CZK) has been the currency of the Czech Republic since 8 February 1993 when, together with its Slovak counterpart, it replaced the Czechoslovak koruna at par.

The official name in Czech is koruna česká (the genitive plural form korun českých is used on banknotes). The ISO 4217 code is CZK and the local acronym is Kč, which is placed after the numeric value (e.g., 50 Kč). One koruna equals 100 haléřů (abbreviated as h, singular: haléř, nominative plural: haléře, genitive plural: haléřů - used with numbers higher or equal to 5 - e.g. 3 haléře, haléřů etc.).

The Czech Republic planned to adopt the euro in 2012, but its government suspended that plan in 2007. Although the country is economically well positioned to adopt the euro, there is considerable opposition to the move within the Czech Republic.

Current exchange rate: USD - CZK