« Return to currency calculator

Information on currency / exchange Algerian dinar ( DZD )

Algerian dinar
The dinar (code: DZD) is the currency of Algeria and it is subdivided into 100 santeem.

The name dinar is ultimately derived from the Roman denarius.

The dinar was introduced in 1964, replacing the Algerian new franc at par.

In 1964, coins in denominations of 1, 2, 5, 10, 20 and 50 santeem, and 1 dinar were introduced, with the 1, 2 and 5 santeem struck in aluminium, the 10, 20 and 50 santeem in aluminium bronze and the 1 dinar in cupro-nickel. The obverses showed the emblem of Algeria, while the reverses carried the values in Eastern Arabic numerals. In later decades, coins were issued sporadically with various commemorative subjects. However, the 1 and 2 santeem were not struck again, whilst the 5, 10 and 20 santeem were last struck in the 1980s.

In 1992, a new series of coins was introduced consisting of ‚Äč​1⁄4, ​1⁄2, 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, 50 and 100 dinar. The 10, 20, 50 and 100 dinar coins are bimetallic.

Coins in general circulation are 5 dinar and higher. Following the massive inflation which accompanied the slow transition to a more capitalist economy during the late 1990s, the santeem and fractional dinar coins have dropped out of general circulation, whilst the 1 and 2 dinar coins are rarely used, as prices are rounded to the nearest 5 dinar. Nonetheless, prices are typically quoted in santeem in everyday speech.

Current exchange rate: USD - DZD